GTF Interview With Maria Healy

Maria Healy is one of the few emerging female artists that is breaking through the ranks of standards  in Trance pushing her sound into a new refreshing direction. Acclaimed as the ‘Best uplifting female trance DJ’ of 2014, Maria continues to evolve musically and to establish herself alongside eminent DJs and producers releasing music on Subculture, Kearnage, nu-Depth Recordings, Blue Soho among others.

Recently, Maria released her new track ‘Kingfisher’ on Subculture that has been getting amazing feedback and support from both DJs and the listeners worldwide. We got the chance to talk with her about this outstanding release, her plans for this summer and what has she been working on lately. Make sure to read up on some interesting exclusivities she shared with us.

Hi Maria. Thank you so much for taking time out to chat with us. Great occasion to have you today since your latest track, ‘Kingfisher’, has recently been released on Subculture. Could you tell us a short insight into the track?

Thanks so much for having me.  Kingfisher is all about the melody.  The melody was written in January 2015 and it was left brewing in the studio for a few months until it was touched again.

The challenge was  trying to make the percussion to accompany the melody and build everything around it. It all came together eventually and the track was finished a year later.  I am really happy with the finished project!

Track has already got quite an impressive feedback and positive impressions, with the likes of Armin Van Buuren, Ally & Fila, Alex M.O.R.P.H. to name but a few. We could tell this tends be one of your biggest one up to date. Would you agree? If so, tell us what inspired the track? How did you find the process of making it?

I would agree, yes.  I am a big fan of the old trance classic sound, I love big riffs and I love the old school piano.   I wanted to create that classic trance sound with energy.  Like, Armin Van Buuren – Communication style.  It’s one of my all time favs!

It was just a case of sitting down and messing around with some melodies and seeing where it went.  The process was different compared to other tracks as it was left for a while and then I went back to work on it.  I love the melody, I really feel it is something special.  I tried to incorporate all the elements of Trance that I love in an actual track.

 

How would you describe the sound or style of this track? What can the fans expect from the ‘Kingfisher’?

I would describe it as a energetic, melodic and emotional.  I hope it makes the hair stand on the back of people’s necks!

 I wanted to create that classic trance sound with energy.  Like, Armin Van Buuren – Communication style.  It’s one of my all time favs!

 

How long does it take you to make a track or a remix in general?

A remix is usually a shorter period as you have the remix parts to work from.  Original tracks, of course take longer.  It can take months, or in this case – Kingfisher, over a year.

Would you consider making a vocal track? Is that more challenging task for you as a producer?

I am currently working on a vocal track at the moment.  I am very excited to see where it goes.  I received the vocals back a few weeks ago, so keep your ears peeled!

Which aspect of DJing you prefer more: making music or being behind the decks?

I would prefer Djing more.  My passion is behind the decks.  I love the preparation and hunting for tracks I love.  I love the art of Djing and playing tunes people love.

What are current trends in Trance? You’re one of very few females who managed to stand out and prove that women can be as well great producers. What are the good and bad sides of being a female artist in the Trance scene?

I think the uplifting, prog and tech are doing really well now.  I suppose psy trance was quite trendy last year, but not as much in 2016.  I never really got into the psy, I like one or two tracks in a set but after that it’s boring for me. IMG_4777

This is always a hot topic for me!  I can’t really differentiate the advantages and disadvantages.  I just keep myself to myself and don’t get involved in the negative comments made about female djs / producers.  I just want to be known as a trance DJ / producer not as a ‘female dj’.  Yes I am female, but that should not categorize me.  I certainly do not get any special treatment or advantages for being a female.

You’re signed to Subculture and a resident DJ at HeavensGate, you host Magnetic radioshow and your music is being supported by some eminent DJs and the listeners. That’s quite an accomplishment for a young female artist. How do you maintain to stay on the track, what motivates you?

I suppose my passion motivates me.  It’s what I do, it’s second nature, I love it! My Dad always says, ‘if you love what you do, you will never work a day in your life’.  I do struggle sometimes with finding time, as I work in a full-time job.  I am a very self motivated person, I like to keep fit & healthy, and I do believe this has a lot to do with staying focused and driven.

 

How would you describe yourself in 3 words?

Positive, Energetic, Enthusiastic 🙂

I just want to be known as a trance DJ / producer not as a ‘female dj’.  Yes I am female, but that should not categorize me.  I certainly do not get any special treatment or advantages for being a female.  

What can we look forward from you in the 2nd half of 2016?

Well, I’ve just announced that I will be playing at Cream in Amnesia at the end of June. I am so excited!  I also have a new original track which will be coming out in late June.  I will also have the new vocal track which I hope to finish very soon. I will back to Ibiza for a few trips, and Germany.  I am also making my US debut towards the end of the summer.  All will be revealed very soon.

Any message to the fans and our readers?

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the readers for the support so far! Thank you very much for reading.

 

Maria, thanks again for your time. We wish ‘Kingfisher’ gets great on the charts. Best of luck with your future projects and hope to catch up with you soon again. 

Purchase ‘Kingfisher’  Beatport

Follow Maria Healy: Facebook  Twitter  Soundcloud

Leave a Reply

